Tags

, , ,

Chai is one of my favourite drinks. I love it in all its varieties; Starbucks Chai Lattes to the massive vats of hot tea for morning warmth at festivals. Its this latter type I’ve tried to recreate here.

I like the instant chai mixes or tea bags you can get but have always wanted to make my own, but I always forget to stock up on spices and the few I use regularly probably would have the same depth. But, I was marinating some lamb last night when inspiration struck – I could use my fave spice mix… Ras El Hanoult! I am totally obsessed with this stuff and it has just the right mix of spices to flavour the tea, with the added benefit of rose petals for added girlyness.

 

Rose Chai Latte – Serves 2

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 tsp ras el hanoult
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 3 tsp Darjeeling tea

All you need to go is to heat the milk and water with the tea and spices over a very low heat until it is almost boiling. Then add honey to sweeten. I like mine quite sweet so you may want to add less. It’s lovely on a chilly damp day like today.

Those rose petals aren’t just a handy prop – they’re part of my Christmas wrappping scheme 2012!

