Tags

, , ,

My new seasons resolution is to take more lunches to work: spending over twenty pounds a week on the same rotation of things from Pret or Eat just seems a bit silly, so armed with some new amazing animal lunchboxs, I’ve been doing my best.

One of my fave things to do it to roast a chicken and use the leftovers in yummy lunches (I hate sandwiches!). But today I didn’t really fancy plain roast chicken so decided to use a little of my stash in a pie. This means more for lunchy leftovers too!

Reason why I love Le Creuset no 102 – pans become pie dishes. Simples.

Chicken Pan Pie – serves 4

– 1 large free range chicken leg, roasted
– A few big handfuls of mushrooms
– 1 onion, diced
– Flour
– Half a small glass of milk
– A small glass of stock (chicken or veg)
– A sprig of thyme
– Shortcrust pastry

Fry the onions in some olive oil or butter, add the mushrooms and pop the lid on for five mins. Add a good sprinkle of flour and stir into the veg. Then add the hot stock and milk and stir over a low heat until the sauce becomes thick and creamy. Add the thyme and the chicken, shredded. Season to taste and top with the pastry. We used our lively bird funnel to keep the lid high.

20121020-192532.jpg

Put in a preheated oven at gas mark 5 for around half an hour. Leave to cool slightly before eating.

20121020-192625.jpg

Perfect for an autumn day! And some left over for Tom’s lunch too.

Sorry for the phone pics, finally charging my camera after holidays!

A x

20121020-192900.jpg

