Tags

, , , ,

Hello again!

It’s been a long old summer and I’ve been a bad food blogger: in fact a bad cook non stop – I’ve lived out of a suitcase for work this summer so have eaten out 5 times a week and been too exhausted to cook on the few occasions I have been at home. Nor have I decorated the new house, gone to the gym or read any of the books I meant to!

But what a summer of fun! And anyway, now its too cold to go out so I return to the blog. I will probably be including other recipes in my weekly post if I can’t dream up a new meat one each week – or just because I feel like it!

Anyway, this weekend was all about these beef tacos, a last remnant of summer inspired by my fab holiday to the USA, and dreamt up in an early morning jet lag sesh. They are super quick to make, and pretty tasty too.

Late Summer Beef Tacos with Cherry Tomatoes – serves 3/4

  • 250g minced steak
  • 1 portobello mushroom, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 glass red wine
  • Juice of half a lime

For the cherry tomato salad:

  • Handful of cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 4 (exact!) chives, finely chopped
  • A sprig of mint
  • Olive oil
  • Sherry vinegar
  • Pinch of salt

About 2 hours before you want to eat, chop the veg and work the mince with a fork, them mix in the spices and a squeeze of lime and leave to marinate (if you don’t have the time, it’s fine to skip the waiting time).Prepare the tomato salad by combining the ingredients.

Fry the taco mix together until the onions are soft then add the wine and leave to reduce. Taste and adjust the spice if you need to.

I served it on a bed of heart of romaine lettuce leaves, which you can use to scoop up the meat if you don’t fancy serving in a wrap. Otherwise, serve with the tomatoes in a soft, lightly toasted wrap, topped with some cheese if you feel like it.

Image

So there you go, hopefully it won’t be another few months before next time!

A x

