Tags

, , , ,

I’ve always wanted to try beer-butt chicken since I saw Jamie making it on his Jamie’s America programme. However, we don’t have a barbeque so I’d thought I’d have to wait. But, turns out its super easy to make in the oven, and, whilst the lovely smokey taste will have to wait until I have a garden (and a barbie), the oven-cooked version tastes pretty good too.

It is by far the moistest chicken I’ve ever cooked, and really easy to make. I used a chilli rub but you could use whatever you fancy, just as you would for a normal roast.

I only really like roast chicken breast, which can sometimes be a bit dry, but this was really moist and didn’t even need gravy. I’m itching to try another version now, maybe a cider butt chicken….

Beer Butt Chicken

  • One chicken (free-range please!)
  • Juice of a lemon
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • 1 heaped tsp chilli powder
  • 1 can lager

Remove all but the bottom shelf of the oven and pre-heat to 200 degrees C. Mix the oil, juice and chilli together with some salt into a rub.

Crack open your can and drink about half (it won’t work if you don’t…. :)). Use kitchen scissors to open the hole in the can a bit more – this will let more of the beer steam out into the chicken. Stand the chicken up over the can and push it down (sexy!). Rub the chilli mixture all over.

Put in the oven and cook for 1 hr 10 mins (this is for a 1.5kg chicken, adjust for size). Once cooked, remove and take out the can. I found the easiest way to do this was to get a helper to hold the chicken (can still inserted) up using a carving fork and knife, and pull the can out (grip it with a few layers of kitchen paper or a tea towel as it is hot).

Serve with whatever you fancy, we went for ratatouille and rice. We’ll have the leftovers as fajitas in the way, can’t wait.

Also this week; It’s been a nice quiet week – enjoying the snow (which I think is on its way out) and making plans for the future

