Tags

, , , , , , ,

I really love anything salted caramely and I also love popcorn. Whenever I’m at the cinema I dream of having my popcorn half-and-half but at my local Cineworld, they refuse to do it for some reason.  So when I saw a picture of bacon caramel popcorn on Hip Hostess this week I knew I had to give it a go.

It was by far and away the most stressful thing I have ever cooked – I cannot make caramel to save my life! I’m not sure what happened but my sugar kept crystallising  – the first time, I stirred it (massive mistake) but the second I used a spotless pan and didn’t stir at all and it still went crystally. I followed Dan Lepard’s ‘caramel masterclass‘ to the letter (it didn’t mention not to stir!) but I obviously just don’t have the magic touch.

So I can’t tell you how to make decent caramel, but I can tell you how to turn crystallised caramel into a workable caramel sauce.

Bacon Caramel Popcorn

  • 3 rashers of bacon, finely chopped
  • 1 small cup of corn – popped
  • The ingredients in Dan Lepard’s recipe – I used creme fraiche and soft brown sugar.

First, pop the corn and fry the bacon until crispy. Spread both out on a lined baking tray – spread the bacon evenly through the corn.

Preheat the oven to 150 degrees c and have all your caramel ingredients out ready. Start to make the caramel. If yours doesn’t crystallise then great, make the sauce!

If it does, you can fix it by immediately stirring the oil into the crystallised white sugar and adding the syrup and the creme fraiche. Bring the whole thing back to the boil whisking as you go (this helps to break down the lumps). Boil until it is a frothy sauce.

Remove from the heat, leave to cool for a few mins before drizzling over the bacon and popcorn. Use two oiled spoons to mix it all together and then bake in the oven for 20 mins. Remove, give a final stir to check everything is well coated and leave to cool. If the caramel sets the popcorn into large lumps, you can break it up. I made far too much sauce so we’ll have some with ice cream in the week. Yum!

The popcorn is really great, but rich – more of the Butterkist type than your average cinema pops. But it is amazing, bacon and caramel is a great combo. This would make a fab nibble to have with drinks – must try it next time I have people over – only if I have a free afternoon to panic over caramel though!

Also this week: A lovely cream tea in the Orchard Tea Garden in Grantchester, and dinner at Caravan to celebrate the lovely Lisa’s engagement. Congrats! xx 

