Tags

, , , , ,

Just a quick one today – I don’t normally bother to post my leftovers recipes but this one is particularly yummy, and obviously can be made with fresh meat (mince or diced stewing beef) instead of the leftover brisket I’m using here.

This chilli is lovely and flavoursome – I use a combination of Jamie and Nigella recipes and so add coffee and chocolate to my dish, it really does give a great, deep flavour which takes a bit of the sting out of the chilli.

Mocha Chilli – Serves 4 (or 2 with lots of leftover lunches)

  • Leftover brisket – I used about a third of what I cooked at the weekend
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 diced onion
  • 1 small fresh chilli – diced
  • 2 cloves garlic – crushed
  • 2 teaspoons cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • As much chilli powder as you want – taste as you go!
  • 1 cup of strong coffee
  • 1sliced red pepper

Fry the onions until soft, chop the beef into small chunks and add to the pan. Add the garlic and fresh chilli and then the tomatoes. Add the chocolate, paprika, sugar and chilli powder and give it a good stir. Add the coffee and beans and leave to bubble away for half an hour.

If serving straight away, add the peppers and cook for around 15 mins or until slightly soft (I like a little crunch still).

If you are making this for the next day, as I did, then turn off the heat, add the peppers, stir and leave to cool on the hob. I don’t bother with the fridge in this cold weather, but in the summer put it in the fridge until you’re ready to heat and serve.

Yummy!

What are your favourite leftover recipes?

