Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well, it’s January. Month of cutting back and eating what’s lurking at the bottom of the freezer. Ours had a semi dried Italian sausage that we bought reduced and couldn’t use before the sell by date. I defrosted it slowly and decided to use it in an Italian sausage and bean stew.

 

But for some reason I really fancied making calzone this week (hence the experimental filling). One half of the sausage and beans will be going to make a (variation on) a more traditional Pasta e Fagoli but I thought I’d give calzone a go as well.

Italian sausage and Bean Calzone – Makes 2

  • Italian sausage (around 50-100g)
  • 100g black eyed peas (pre cooked)
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • Half a standard ball of buffalo mozzarella
  • Pinch of dried mixed herbs
  • 1 shallot – finely diced
  • 100ml vegetable stock
  • Small glass of white wine

Fry the shallot until soft. Mix into the beans and add the sausage, cut into small chunks and the herbs. Add the wine and stock, bring to the boil and simmer for half an hour.

Stir in the tomato puree and leave to cool. When you’re ready to use it, make up a batch of pizza dough:

Pizza Dough – enough for 2

I like my pizza base to be crispy so I don’t add any oil.

  • 225g strong white flour
  • 170ml lukewarm water
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp fast action yeast

Mix the dry ingredients together and slowly add the water, using your hands to combine into a dough. Leave, covered with a cloth, for 5 mins then knead on a floured surface for 8 mins. Cover and leave in a warm place for 40 mins.

Chop the dough in half, and stretch between your fingers to make a circle of dough, around half a cm thick.

Combine the filling with chopped mozzerella and spoon onto one half of the dough circle. Fold over and pinch between your fingers to seal. Brush with milk and put in a preheated oven at 250 degrees c.

The calzone came out really well, nice and crisp on the outside with a good amount of filling. If anything, there was a bit too much dough at the corners so trim this off if crusts aren’t your thing. I’ll def be coming up with some more calzone ideas, roasted veg and feta would be lush.

Also this week: I joined Pinterest which I am now obsessed with – come check me out at AllieLWatson if you like. I broke my no drinking in Jan rule with an awesome fizzy wine lunch with my lovely friends. Totally worth it. Oh and I had half my hair cut off like the hipster-esque lady I am. A x

