Tags

, , , ,

Continuing with the theme of things I’ve never tried before, this week I made a Chicken Kiev. I’m not sure why I’d never tried one, I always assumed they were really tricky to make, and never fancied the sorry-looking supermarket ones. But as I was eating alone and didn’t fancy making something I’d have leftovers from, I thought I’d give it a go.

The Kiev was super easy to make, a bit time consuming, but nowhere near as complicated as I was imagining. It’s probably best to do things in the order below though, as there are quite a few steps.

I had some bacon in the fridge so decided to add that to the mix, as chicken and bacon is one of my favourite flavour combinations, its a classic. I really think it adds something to this dish – the salty bacon really pairs well with the garlicy buttery sauce.

Bacon Chicken Kiev – Serves 1

  • 1 free range chicken breast
  • 1 rasher of bacon
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • A heaped teaspoon of soft butter
  • A slice of white bread, lightly toasted and breadcrumbed
  • Dried mixed herbs
  • Flour
  • 1 egg, beaten with a little water

Firstly (I did this the night before) fry the bacon until it’s really crisp and leave to cool. Lightly fry the crushed garlic in the bacon oil. Chop the bacon very finely.

Mix the bacon with the garlic and a heaped teaspoon of soft butter. Mold into a disc and leave in the fridge for as long as you can, until it’s very set.

Some time later, lightly toast the bread and leave to cool. Now it’s time to prepare the chicken (!!). Now there are many methods out there of stuffing the chicken; I was tempted by the Allegra McEvedy one of tunneling the breast out, but it sounded a bit easy to totally mess up, so I went with this trusty Hugh F-W method.

Cut off the little mini-fillet attached to the breast. Make a slit along one side of the breast and insert the butter disk. Then use the mini fillet to plug the gap. In hindsight, I actually wish I’d gone for the tunneling method as, after baking my Kiev, some of the butter had escaped (Hugh deep fries his, which may keep the butter inside). Oh well, I’ll have to make more… 🙂

Finally breadcrumb the chicken (I’m developing an obsession with breadcrumbing things!) by rolling it in flour, then the beaten egg, them the breadcrumbs mixed with some herbs. Repeat the egg and breadcrumbing to get a nice thick crust.

Place on a baking tray and bake for about 25 mins. For some reason my crumbs stayed quite pale – maybe I need to buy the crazy orange ones! I served the Kiev with steamed broccoli and some (very lightly) wilted spinach and it was really yummy and the perfect comfort dish for a meal alone.  I ended up pouring some of the butter sauce on top of it but it still worked (instant veg dressing!).

Also this week: Mostly trying my best to get into the Christmas spirit: lining up my advent calendars ready for Thursday, decoration shopping at Liberty and getting ready for an early family celebration at my Grandma’s this weekend. Ax

