Tags

, , , ,

I am very proud of myself this week – I cooked and successfully ate liver! I can honestly say that this is the first piece of offal I have ever eaten (apart from Andouillette sausages, but the less said about them the better!). Although I’ve been eating meat for a good few years now, and am normally quite adventurous with it, there was something about offal that was putting me off. It’s almost getting the essence of an animal, eating its liver, isn’t it?

It’s because of this that I would definitely only buy a free range liver (the animal that is, it’s not a wandering womb!), as I’m pretty sure a liver from an antibiotic-pumped, intensively reared animal would be pretty full of toxins and not something I’d like to eat. So I went for a nice fresh lamb’s liver (which was humongous actually).

I was in a bit of a rush yesterday so didn’t have much time to think of what to do with my newly acquired liver. But luckily we keep a jar of amazing Yasai Soba dressing in the fridge (from this Wagamama’s recipe) which I thought would go brilliantly with the liver, as something to cut through its, ummm, unique texture. Liver was definitely one of those things that you need to try at least three times, but I persevered and would eat it again. And i’m sure all that yummy iron is doing me a world of good.

Yasai Soba Liver – Serves 3

  • Half of a fresh lamb’s liver
  • Flour
  • Chilli Powder
  • Yasai Soba Dressing
  • A shot of sherry
  • 2 peppers
  • 1 onion

Slice the liver into 1cm slices and coat in the flour seasoned with half a tsp of chilli powder. Fry in a medium pan with a tbsp of the dressing for about 5 mins. The liver should be still just pink in the middle. Don’t worry about the blood which will still be bubbling on it’s surface as this will sink back in. Leave to rest on a warm plate.

Meanwhile, fry the onion and the pepper with another couple of spoons of the dressing. Serve with noodles or rice.

My sister, who is a vegan, was staying with us so she had some smoked almond tofu. The texture was surprisingly similar to the liver actually, and I did have a slice, to nibble on between bites of the liver until I got used to it!

So if you’ve never cooked liver before, I would recommend this recipe as a good place to start, especially if the idea of the traditional liver, gravy and onions is a bit much to face. The spicy sauce helps to lift the strong liver flavour and the crunch of the pepper is a good foil to the texture.  I will definitely be trying it again.

Also this week: Work, work, work 😦 Christmas shopping with my mum 🙂 and a yummy trip to my fave Cambridge deli Limoncello to plan my Christmas hampers. Ax

