Tags

, , , ,

I LOVE pomegranates!! They are so lovely and bright and welcoming during the cold winter months and along with the clementine, are pretty much Christmas in a fruit. Also, it doesn’t hurt that I’m convinced that they are the secret ingredient in Vimto, which I’m only ever-so-slightly addicted to (honest…).

I was having trouble thinking what to cook this weekend, not least because I’ve been off sick with a cold, until I saw these delish pomegranates for sale on the fruit stall outside my work – only £1 for 3!! Amazing. I knew they’d be lovely in a Moroccan chicken stew.

Pomegranate Chicken – Serves 2-3

  • 2 free-range chicken legs (split into thigh and drumstick)
  • 3 tsp Ras-el-Hanout (Moroccan spice blend)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 3 carrots
  • Half a tin of chickpeas
  • Lemon juice
  • 1 cup of pomegranate juice
  • Chicken stock
  • 1 pomegranate
  • Coriander

Mix the spices and olive oil together and rub onto the chicken. Leave to marinate for a few hours. Chop the onion and fry in a shallow casserole, add the chicken and a squeeze of lemon and brown all over.

Roughly chop the carrots and sweet potato and add to the casserole. Add the pomegranate juice and give it a good stir, making sure to scrape all the spices off the pan. Add chicken stock until everything is almost covered then put in the oven at gas mark 2/150 degrees C.

After half an hour, take out of the oven, add the chick peas and stir. I gave the sauce a taste at this point and adjusted the seasoning, adding a little more lemon. Return to the oven and cook for a further 40 minutes.

Before serving add a third of the pomegranate pearls and sprinkle with coriander.

We served this with cous cous mixed with the rest of the pomegranate and a splash of lemon and it was lovely. Really nice and warming for this time of year.

But what to do with the other two pomegranates….. any suggestions?

Also this week: Being ill (boo hoo), digging out Nigella Christmas (I just can’t help myself!)

