Tags

, , ,

I’d never considered Scotch Eggs as something that could be made at home before, in fact I’d never really eaten them at all, (being a veggie throughout my formative years I’ve missed out on a lot of picnicy treats). But my colleague bought some amazing Nigerian (Scotch) Eggs in to work the other day and I knew I had to have a go for myself.

They were surprisingly easy to make and well worth the time, I’ll definitively be making a few of these on a quiet Saturday again. The recipe I used was adapted from a Hairy Biker’s one, but baked, as I’d seen on this week’s Home Cooking Made Easy (love this girl!).

For 4 largish eggs

  • 200g sausage meat (I used Cumberland sausages, de-skinned)
  • 4 medium eggs
  • Flour, seasoned with paprika
  • 1 additional egg, beaten
  • 2 slices of white toast, breadcrumbed (or packet crumbs)

Bring a pan of water to the boil then rapidly boil the eggs for 6 mins. Plunge them into cold water to keep the yolk from overcooking and peel once properly cooled.

Meanwhile dust a plate with flour and roll out balls of sausage meat into a thin oval, then wrap around the egg, trying to make sure there are no gaps.

Roll the ball in flour, then beaten egg and then into breadcrumbs. Two of the eggs I then dipped in egg again them rolled in more breadcrumbs – I would definitely recommend this as a single layer doesn’t give a full coverage once baked.


Bake at 200 degrees for half an hour then cool.

Being an obsessive taster of dishes, I felt very uneasy with this sort of stick-it-in-the-oven-and-hope-for-the-best cookery, and was very nervous cutting into the first one. But I can honestly say I was very surprised and actually impressed, the yolk was only slightly soft and the meat was really yummy. I will be making these again and making up for lost Scotch Egg time. They’ll go wonderfully in our new picnic basket!

Also this week: Lots of yummy dinners out, including the amazing Iceberg Wedge at Byron, a lovely sunny weekend and of course, the wedding pressies’ arrival! A x

