Tags

, , , ,

Hello and Happy Sunday! I have to admit, I don’t really like lamb. I find it just too fatty, and a bit grey and tired. I’ve never ordered it in a restaurant and would always shy away from cooking it at home unless it had a lot of spices to cut through the fatty flavour.

So this lamb was a real surprise – I think I’ve finally found a lamb style I could eat over and over again. By infusing the lamb with a tasty marinade and then grilling quickly over a high heat, the lamb stays tender and just pink in the middle and loses some of its ‘sheepy’ taste (which I know people who like lamb love).

I served it with baba ghanoush, a smoky, garlicy aubergine dip which really goes well. Aubergine really loves to soak up fat so it’s perfect with the lamb, Its one of my fave dips, without the popularity of houmous, but it’s less heavy and great for a change.

Moroccan Lamb Chops with Baba Ghanoush (Serves 2 – with dip left over)

  • 4 lamb chops
  • 2 tsp Ras el Hanout (which is a lovely rose tinted spice mix)
  • Olive Oil
  • 2 aubergines
  • 1-2 cloves garlic (depending on taste)
  • 1-2 dessert spoons tahini (again depending  on taste)
  • Olive Oil
  • The juice of 1 lemon
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Nutmeg

The day before, rub the chops with a paste of the spices and oil and leave to infuse in the fridge overnight.

The baba ghanoush gets its flavour from the smoke charred skin of the aubergines. The best way to do this is over a barbecue, as this softens the flesh as well, but you can easily get the flavour by charring the skins in the flame of a gas hob, then cooking in the oven for around 40 mins, until the aubergine is almost falling apart. Be sure to prick the skins a few times to stop it exploding though.

When the aubergines are nice and soft, scrape out the flesh and mix with the crushed garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, tahini, salt and pepper and a little grate of nutmeg. Blitz it all in a blender and then taste. Adjust the ingredients according to taste; I like a bit more lemon juice. Leave in the fridge for a couple of hours to get nice and mingled.

When you’re ready to eat, grill the chops over a high heat (I use a ridged grill pan) and serve with the baba ghanoush, flatbreads and some chopped tomatoes. It makes a really nice alternative to the traditional Sunday lunch.

We followed ours with some amazing Gu chocolate cheesecakes. It is Sunday after all! And, bizarrely, its snowing here!! Genuine snow!

How do you like your lamb? Any other recipes I might like…?

Also this week: I started running again. Aiming for a 10k…we’ll see how that goes! Also, helping out my Grandma at her fairtrade fortnight stall and enjoying some yummy fairtrade goodies. Ax